Novel Links

Thursday, July 20, 2017

Change is in the air...

Big change is in the air here... as the Stone Soldiers takes a long hiatus. Detachment 1039 continues their war against evil in an all new series: SPECTRAL OPS.

For all the latest information on Spectral Ops, Shadow Raiders, Shadow Detachment and the eventual return of the Stone Soldiers, you need to PUNCH THE RABBIT...

What did a rabbit ever do to you? Rabbits are evil, or rather, the magic they represent is. 

When there's an incident involving a nuclear weapon, the military can declare a COVERED WAGON, or a BROKEN ARROW. But what about when supernatural forces are on the move?

MYSTIC STORM signifies an impending supernatural event--it's the supernatural equivalent of the COVERED WAGON. 

When something does happen, it's labelled BRIGHT THUNDER--the supernatural equivalent of a NUCFLASH. 

But what about when magic sighted in an area, and its uncertain there's any danger or impending catastrophe? LOOSE RABBIT is declared, and anti-supernatural forces are deployed... to punch the rabbit. 

Look for these and other Detachment 1039 happenings in book 2 of the new Spectral Ops series, GHOSTWALKER, releasing August 7, 2017 on Kindle and in print. 

And if you don't want to have to check in at the blog, don't despair, a newsletter for Detachment 1039 updates is coming with monthly RABBIT PUNCHES for all.

Monday, June 12, 2017

The End is Here: Stone Soldiers #12, WINTERS FURY

The 12th and final installment of the Stone Soldiers series!

Josie Winters has awakened from a strange nightmare only to find herself thrust into a life she does not remember, married to a man she knew only as a friend, living in Miami, Florida, with no memory of how she got there, or the past four years of her life. Assured her amnesia will only be temporary, Josie reluctantly settles into an idyllic routine that just doesn't seem familiar. Plagued by terrible dreams she cannot remember upon awakening, Josie begins to question her sanity and her surroundings. Is this really her life or someone else's?

When a mysterious woman reveals it is all an elaborate lie, Josie has to find out who she really is and why her memories have been erased. But is she ready to learn the dark secrets of her past, or should the truth remain forgotten?

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Book of Stone: Zone 6

For April, Stone is celebrating the A to Z Blog Challenge with daily letter-themed entries about the people, places, and things of the series. To view past and present entries visit the Book of Stone by clicking on the link on the righthand side of this page. 


A circular area designated extending out from a supernatural/preternatural threat (LOOSE RABBIT, RED TITAN, BRIGHT STORM, etc.) the minimum safe distance. ZONE 6 varies in size based upon the threat, extending outward as far as necessary to prevent hazardous exposure. Armed forces are instructed to either retreat to Zone 6, or beyond Zone 6.

Command orders may specify over radio that the Zone 6 is expanding or contracting, e.g. "Zone 6 now 3 to 7 kilometers" specifying the closest armed forces may be allowed to a specific threat.

The civilian population is prohibited from being within Zone 6. Evacuations initiated under these conditions call for all civilian personnel to be moved outside of Zone 6, with conventional armed forces confined to the innermost point of the Zone, or farther. Only preternatural forces with Command-authorized access are allow to pass beyond Zone 6, into the designated threat area. 

The term is loosely modeled on the Nuclear safe zones (I, II, and III).  

Behind the Scenes

One of the biggest challenges of writing any military series is balancing the need for authentic "military speak" with reader familiarity. While many readers might know all the jargon, non-veterans might not. Throw in a science fiction twist, like the preternatural forces of Stone Soldiers and Spectral Ops and you have to start inventing military terms to cover the situations, creatures and conditions now part of the created world. 

Fortunately, writers can turn to history for examples on how to do this. In the 1940s, the advent of nuclear weaponry resulted in a shift in warfare tactics that necessitated a whole new lexicon terms. The War on Terror and our Information Age Cyber Threats re doing the same thing. Using these as examples, it's possible to come up with appropriate terms. The trick is to just not over use them...